23.7 C
New York
Saturday, July 13, 2024

Who Has Received the Tour de France in Three Consecutive Years?

Given the acute bodily stress that using the Tour de France exerts, it’s wonderful how typically the winner of the yellow jersey is ready to return the next 12 months, undergo the ache barrier as soon as extra and efficiently defend their title.

It’s a feat of endurance and power that Jonas Vingegaard was in a position to pull off in 2023, trouncing the sphere on his approach to a second successive basic classification victory.

The Dane can be trying to be part of an unique membership in 2024 then, assuming he stays match. He might be simply the sixth man to win three consecutive editions of Le Tour in its 120-year historical past.

In whose path will he comply with?

Chris Froome (2015-17)

For many who wager on sports activities, Vingegaard is the 5/6 favorite to win the 2024 Tour de France, with a chasing pack carefully following behind that features the likes of Primoz Roglic (14/1) and Adam Yates (30/1).

If he can obtain what the bookmakers count on him to, the 26-year-old would be the first rider since Chris Froome to finish the French hat trick.

The Brit gained the 2013 Tour de France earlier than being unable to defend it the next 12 months. Nevertheless, he returned afresh in 2015, taking the final classification lead in Stage 7 and by no means wanting again – Froome additionally triumphed within the mountains classification to finish a commanding victory.

His 2016 win was much more dominant – greater than 4 minutes separated Froome from Romain Bardet in second, earlier than the three-peat was accomplished in 2017; albeit in a way more difficult race that noticed him lose the yellow jersey to Fabio Aru round midway, earlier than reasserting his lead within the dwelling stretch.

Miguel Indurain (1991-95)

Probably the most dominant interval of Tour de France historical past belongs to the nice Miguel Indurain, who gained 5 consecutive editions of the race between 1991 and 1995.

The Spaniard prevailed by no less than three minutes in every of his victories, which included a 5:39 demolition of the sphere in 1994, the place solely two different riders had been inside ten minutes of him.

Eddy Merckx (1969-72)

If successful margins are a mirrored image of full domination, it doesn’t come significantly better than Eddy Merckx’s quadruple victories from 1969 to 1972.

The Belgian gained by a margin of no less than 9:50 every time, with a staggering 17:54 overcome the sphere in 1969 some of the good-looking successful cushions within the post-war period.

Jacques Anquetil (1961-64)

The Frenchman additionally accomplished the four-timer from 1961 to 1964, with the latter race producing some of the entertaining finishes in Le Tour historical past.

5 completely different riders held the yellow jersey all through, with Anquetil solely lastly powering forward from Stage 17 onwards. However heading into the enterprise finish of the race, Anquetil had a lead of simply 14 seconds from countryman Raymond Poulidor.

Anquetil excelled to win the ultimate time trial, however his 55-second margin of victory was – on the time – the smallest in Tour de France historical past.

Louison Bobet (1953-55)

The primary rider to finish the Tour de France hat trick was Louison Bobet, who prevailed from 1953 by way of to 1955.

Thought of the primary nice bicycle owner of the post-war period, Bobet gained a stack of different occasions together with the Highway World Championship, but it surely’s his Tour de France three-timer for which he’ll greatest be remembered.

May Vingegaard be part of this exalted firm in 2024?








Like PEZ? Why not subscribe to our weekly e-newsletter to obtain updates and reminders on what’s cool in highway biking?

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles